The Hemmaberg - a pilgrimage destination from 1500 years ago until today
When the migration of peoples brought uncertain times for property and life, the Roman and Celtic population moved from the plain near Globasnitz to the Hemmaberg around 400 AD. In addition, during the period of Ostrogothic rule (493 - 536), the road station existed in the valley, where soldiers performed their duties. The mountain settlement was surrounded with a fortification wall and a first church of the Christian community was built on the edge of the summit plateau around 400 AD. Around 510 A.D. a double church of the Catholic Romans and another double church of the Ostrogoths, who were Arian Christians, were also built.
This church complex was uncovered during excavations and can be admired by visitors today. Each church tells its own moving story and the oldest is 1,600 years old.
Hemmaberg developed into a place of pilgrimage because the relics of saints enjoyed special veneration. But most people probably came to visit the legendary miraculous spring in the cave of St. Rosalia. While there, they drank water from the spring, which is believed to have "healing powers" not only by the local population. Even today, thousands of visitors come every year to experience the spring with its extraordinary powers.
Key data of the Hemma Pilgrimage Trail:
about the treasures on the Hemmaberg can be found on the website of the Hemmaberg-Juenna Archaeological Pilgrimage Museum: