Organisation of the Geopark Karawanken-Karavanke

The Karawanken-Karavanke UNESCO Global Geopark is organised as EGTC European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation Geopark Karawanken-Karavanke. The European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is an EU instrument set up to facilitate cross-border, transnational and interregional cooperation, which has an equal representation on both sides of the border. It has its own legal personality and is therefore an autonomous holder of rights and obligations (100% public institution) and facilitates the management of cross-border or interregional sustainable development projects. 


Executive Board

Mayor Dr. Tomaž Rožen, Municipality Ravne na Koroškem, president

Mayor Elisabeth Lobnik, Municipality Eisenkappel-Vellach, vice-president

Mayor Mag. Romana Lesjak, Municipality Črna na Koroškem

Mayor Dr. Matija Tasič, Municipality Prevalje

Mayor Hermann Srienz, Municipality Feistritz ob Bleiburg/Bistrica nad Pliberkom

Mayor Bernhard Sadovnik, Municipality Globasnitz/Globasnica

Structure of the EGTC Geopark Karawanken-Karavanke